Note: LucasForums Archive Project
The content here was reconstructed by scraping the Wayback Machine in an effort to restore some of what was lost when LF went down. The LucasForums Archive Project claims no ownership over the content or assets that were archived on archive.org.

This project is meant for research purposes only.

script question?

Page: 1 of 2
 T7nowhere
02-21-2004, 8:01 AM
I wrote script that when the PC talks to a certain npc it gives the PC some items.Now my question is what do I need to add to the script that makes it so the npc only give the items once(please keep in mind this is the first script I have made that works,and I am very new to writing program). here is my simple script :) :

void main()
{
object oPC = GetFirstPC();
CreateItemOnObject("ejmrobe21",oPC);
CreateItemOnObject("ejmrobe22",oPC);
CreateItemOnObject("ejmrobe23",oPC);
CreateItemOnObject("ejmrobe24",oPC);
}
 gameunlimited
02-21-2004, 8:08 AM
void main()
{
int Check = GetGlobalNumber("CHECK_VAR"); // create a variable called Check
if (Check != 99) // if the check variable is not 99, then do the following lines.
//note: 99 is just an arbitrary number that I pick
{
CreateItemOnObject("ejmrobe21",oPC);
CreateItemOnObject("ejmrobe22",oPC);
CreateItemOnObject("ejmrobe23",oPC);
CreateItemOnObject("ejmrobe24",oPC);
SetGlobalNumber("CHECK_VAR", 99); // sets the check variable to 99 to prevent
//the items being given again the next time around
}
}

That should do it. Also you have to edit the file globalcat.2da and add this line. This line will initialize the Global Number called "CHECK_VAR". Global Numbers, unlike local variable such as oPC and Check, will stay in the game even after you quit the game and come back in.

1185 CHECK_VAR Number
 T7nowhere
02-21-2004, 8:51 AM
Thanks for the quik reply gameunlimited, That worked perfectly. Accept is there a way to do it without editing globalcat.2da as in useing one of the others that are there or are they script specific.