Note: LucasForums Archive Project
The content here was reconstructed by scraping the Wayback Machine in an effort to restore some of what was lost when LF went down. The LucasForums Archive Project claims no ownership over the content or assets that were archived on archive.org.

This project is meant for research purposes only.

First Level: 2 instant deaths and 2 crashes - Good Job!

Page: 1 of 1
 HANSOLO
03-28-2002, 8:42 PM
First things first, I'm not some flamer coming here to put down the game. I am a games designer for a UK publisher/developer and evaluating software is a major part of my job. I am a huge SW and FPS fan also...

I've been playing the game 5 minutes, and I've already had all the problems in the topic plus more. My system is pretty ancient, but it does meet the minimum specs, and plays Q3 and RTCW no problems.

P3 450mhz
327MB PC-100 RAM
Voodoo 3 (I know, but I have a GeForce at work...)

First off; what is with the videos? They are shown in something like 320x240 res on my machine (stretched), and the text is unreadable. I have my detail settings on High (which runs fine in game). Also, the STAR WARS text crawl video; I can't see any text. I see the main heading...then it's stars and sound only.

I managed to get 2 instant deaths in game very quickly. The first was from an errant grenade - for some reason it decides to explode right next to me in an empty room. The second was when using the lift to get to the gun activation comp. I was obviously only half-on the lift, so I got crushed on the ceiling. My fault? Well maybe; but I was close enough to hit the button... To me that just looks like bad design.

After both of these deaths, the game tried to reload the level. On both occasions, I get a screwed up background (either pure gray/magenta or the first frame of the LucasArts logo (upside-down). My system then freezes with the bar on about 40% (with a hard reset needed).