Note: LucasForums Archive Project
The content here was reconstructed by scraping the Wayback Machine in an effort to restore some of what was lost when LF went down. The LucasForums Archive Project claims no ownership over the content or assets that were archived on archive.org.

This project is meant for research purposes only.

Models

Page: 1 of 1
 Obi
03-10-2002, 1:45 AM
Has anyone created any models around 3000 polys for Jedi Outcast yet? Especially jedi ones? I'm not yet experienced in model-making outside of JK. I'm a good texture artist though, and I can probably figure out how to edit a pre-made model. I just need one of sufficient detail to be worthy of Jedi Outcast.
 Jolts
03-10-2002, 1:58 AM
you should post some of your work for people to see.
 Dorvo
03-10-2002, 9:46 AM
I don't think you'd want to start making models to use in Jedi Outcast. That is, IF you want them to be playable characters... you won't have the tags that the game uses for the models, nor will you have the animations.

It would be best if you hold off on making models for Outcast until a plugin's been made for some modelling software.
 Obi
03-10-2002, 12:21 PM
Hmm.....Yes, you are right.
 Major Clod
03-10-2002, 6:21 PM
You can still create your meshes and perhaps even test their animation integrity with a standard biped and then texture them. I've already created a number of meshes that I hope to use with JK2.
 Dorvo
03-10-2002, 7:26 PM
But they won't work as playable or even non-playable characters because there isn't a way to transfer the animations onto your meshes.
 Jolts
03-10-2002, 8:15 PM
you can still model your character and wait for the sdk. Animation tests he was talking is a good idea to see if you built your character the right way to be animated(see if the shoulder and knees bend well). Then when you get your sdk or plugins that you need for exporting out model with animation you can do the final work
 Dorvo
03-11-2002, 8:09 AM