Note: LucasForums Archive Project
The content here was reconstructed by scraping the Wayback Machine in an effort to restore some of what was lost when LF went down. The LucasForums Archive Project claims no ownership over the content or assets that were archived on archive.org.

This project is meant for research purposes only.

New Computer

Page: 1 of 1
 ActofWar
01-17-2006, 4:50 PM
Im planning on buying a new computer hopefully buy the end of this month (fingers cross), but im not that good with the Hardware side of things could someone tell me if this is a good machine please.

CPU: AMD Athlon 64bit 3200 (Venice) 512kb L2 chache (939 pin)

Memory: 2048 DDR400 PC 3200

Motherboard: ASUS A8V Deleuxe: SATA, Firewire, 8x AGP, 5 PCI etc

USB Options: Six USB 2.0 Ports

Hard Drive: SATA 300GB @ 7200rpm 16mb cashe

DVD ROM: 16x DVDROM With 48x CD ROM

Graphic Card: 128mb Gforce 6600GT AGP 8x

Network Facilities: 10/100/1000 Network Card for BroadBand

Floppy Drive: 1.44MB Floppy disk

Case: Stylish Black X-Plode Case + 2 Front USB

Power Supply & Cooling: Silent 600w PSU + 120mm Internal Fan

Operating System: Windows Service Pack 1 Pro

Firewire & Video Editing: 1 x Firewire Port Onboard

Cost: Pounds 541 inc VAT and Delivery

Thanks
 Jeff
01-17-2006, 5:29 PM
The only thing I can see bad about it is that windows is service pack 1. It'd probably be worth getting SP2 if windows is your primary/only operating system. Other than that, the computer looks excellent as far as I can tell, much better than mine.
 ActofWar
01-17-2006, 5:37 PM
The only thing I can see bad about it is that windows is service pack 1. It'd probably be worth getting SP2 if windows is your primary/only operating system. Other than that, the computer looks excellent as far as I can tell, much better than mine.

This computer doesn't come with Windows (It drops the price ;) ) installed because i have already got XP Pro SP1 disk, and i can download updates to SP2.

Thanks for your input.
 Xyvik