Note: LucasForums Archive Project
The content here was reconstructed by scraping the Wayback Machine in an effort to restore some of what was lost when LF went down. The LucasForums Archive Project claims no ownership over the content or assets that were archived on archive.org.

This project is meant for research purposes only.

WIP: Ulic Qel Droma Saber

Page: 1 of 2
 Scotchy
10-15-2002, 1:34 AM
I don't see to many WIP: Saber threads here. I suppose it could be because they are not as anticipated as player models, but I decided that these needed a little community help to finish up.

SCREENIES LATER IN THREAD (SCROLL DOWN :))

I'm practically new to game modeling. I've tinkered around for years but never really gotten into anything heavy-duty. Well, now I'm a Digital Media student concentrationg in Visualization (Modeling and Animation) and I want to get a jump on the courses I won't have to take for another year or so. I figured that weapon modeling had to be one of the easiest types of JK2 models to make, so I decided to do an EU saber that hadn't been done yet. Good practice, right?

Now, for the "please help me" part:

I'm not sure of the ideal poly count for a saber model... that's why the above models range from 828 to 1200 polies. If someone could let me know, I would appreciate it much.
I'm using Gmax right now (getting MAX 4 or 5 soon), and I have read some nice tutorials on the matter and have downloaded the .md3 importer/exporter. If you know of any other saber/weapon making tutorial than the one listed in the NEW TO THE FORUMS thread, please point me to it.
As you can see above, the sabers are not yet textured. UVW Mapping in Gmax (at least doing it how that blasted tutorial instructs) is a royal pain. If there is any way I can UVW Map only certain sections at a time for a bit less eye and memory strain, PLEASE let me know.
I only have ONE reference pic. If you can find more, I would be so happy.