Note: LucasForums Archive Project
The content here was reconstructed by scraping the Wayback Machine in an effort to restore some of what was lost when LF went down. The LucasForums Archive Project claims no ownership over the content or assets that were archived on archive.org.

This project is meant for research purposes only.

Waterfalls... Doable?

Page: 1 of 1
 Nanime
04-28-2002, 2:50 AM
I'm working on my first map now and it's been ages since I've done anything like this. To tell you how long it's been, we'll just say Duke Nukem was my last submission. I've been getting the hang of the build program, but have had the most difficult time with archways, water, twisted staircases (as seen in the bespin area), and those awesome docking bays (a la death star). Feeling like a total newb, I'm looking for any suggestions on methods. I also am looking to do something different... not the average building kind of level. I'm open for suggestions on this, and I'm wondering if things like waterfalls, trees, the whole deal, are possible. Any pointers?

:amidala:

Thanks!
 mapmaker
04-28-2002, 3:49 AM
Trees are very possible, there's a good amount of models for them. As for waterfalls, in the map I'm working on right now, I plan to have at least one, so after I get it to work (I don't know how to make them, but I have an idea) I'll post the results and instructions here (if you haven't already figured it out).
And to access the models in the game:
1. Extract the .md3 files from the 'assets0.pk3' file (it could be assets1, I forgot) which is located in the 'base' folder
2. Put the .md3 files (which are the models) in a new folder in the 'models' folder, located under 'base' as well.
3. Now, in JK2Radiant, right click on the grid and a menu should show up. Select on 'misc' option then select 'misc_model'.