Note: LucasForums Archive Project
The content here was reconstructed by scraping the Wayback Machine in an effort to restore some of what was lost when LF went down. The LucasForums Archive Project claims no ownership over the content or assets that were archived on archive.org.

This project is meant for research purposes only.

How Do You Do It (hosting a game)

Page: 1 of 1
 obi wan MAXimus
03-31-2004, 2:58 AM
I am new at the jedi academy multiplayer game. and I was wondering how to set up a server so that friends(in another city)can duel with me online.so far I've tried everything.and he doesn't see me on the "join server list".HOW DO YOU DO IT!!
 --ZeeMan--
03-31-2004, 3:51 AM
very difficultily...

basically if you use your own computer you won't be able to play on it very well and it will cause you're other players to lag as well.
 Kurgan
03-31-2004, 3:47 PM
Check out the Dedicated Server forum for help! It's not that hard, once you realize what settings to change.

If you and your friends only have dialup though, forget it, you're better off just finding a server and all joining it.

If you are interested in plunking down a little cash each month (say $20-25) you can rent a server (from a site like JediServers.com) and you can get it virtually lag free with lots of players.

; )
 •-BLaCKouT-•
03-31-2004, 5:04 PM
Like Kurgan said, dial-up ain't good for hosting, but if you've got a nice connection here's the method I use for me buddies:

• Go here (http://www.whatismyipaddress.com/) and CTRL+C your IP address.

• Give the IP address to your mates in Messenger / AIM etc.

• Start JA/MP and create a server as normal.

• Once you're "in", your mates can drop the console down (SHIFT + `) and type \connect 000.00.000.00 where the 0's are the IP address you gave them. They can just type \connect and then CTRL+V the IP in if they've copied it.