Note: LucasForums Archive Project
The content here was reconstructed by scraping the Wayback Machine in an effort to restore some of what was lost when LF went down. The LucasForums Archive Project claims no ownership over the content or assets that were archived on archive.org.

This project is meant for research purposes only.

Extract Item Icons?

Page: 1 of 1
 daemoj
06-17-2007, 11:57 AM
I'm new to modding KotOR, so please bear with me.

Does anyone know what my best route would be to extract all of the in-game KotOR and KotOR II item icons to a generally useable format (GIF, JPG, etc.)? I'm going to make a database of all the items with their icons, but don't want to have to snap images of the icons from inside the game. Hopefully there's reasonable way of doing this using KotOR Tool or another utility. Any help is appreciated!
 CraZy_B
06-17-2007, 12:14 PM
Yep, Kotor Tool is what you need. You can extract anything you want with that.
 tk102
06-17-2007, 12:18 PM
In KotOR Tool browse to
ERFs -> TexturePacks -> swpc_tex_gui.erf
and click the "Extract Entire ERF File" to pull all the *.tpc files into a folder.

Open a command prompt in that folder.
md icons
move i*.tpc icons

This will create a folder called icons move all the tpc files that begin with I into that folder.

Next, download BulkTPC2TGA (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?p=2272437#post2272437) utility and put it in the icons folder.

Open a command prompt in the icons folder and type:

md tga_icons
bulktpc2tga . tga_icons
You'll get a bunch of messages that say "Use of uninitialized value in pack at /PerlApp/Bioware/TPC.pm line 83." but the program is working. You should now have all your icons as .tga files in your tga_icons folder.
 daemoj
06-17-2007, 1:29 PM
That'll do it. Thank you very much!
 daemoj
06-22-2007, 10:11 AM