Note: LucasForums Archive Project
The content here was reconstructed by scraping the Wayback Machine in an effort to restore some of what was lost when LF went down. The LucasForums Archive Project claims no ownership over the content or assets that were archived on archive.org.

This project is meant for research purposes only.

Same old playermodel problems

Page: 1 of 1
 riceplant
07-09-2005, 7:29 PM
I don't know if anyone remembers, but I was asking about the playermodel command, specifically how to use a different model in cutscenes without learning how to edit all the maps. I can only assume that a different entity is used for the cutscenes, and the playermodel command does not change this. I would greatly appreciate any help on this.
 shukrallah
07-09-2005, 8:23 PM
You can edit the menu files to start you with another model, which will appear in cutscenes. ;)
 riceplant
07-09-2005, 10:05 PM
I'm sorry, I'm a complete newbie when it comes to modding quake 3, and I can't find the menus. I've looked in the pk3s, but can't find them. Where are they?
 StrangeOne
07-10-2005, 7:58 AM
you can use the playermodel command to change your appearance in cutscences.

here's how

Playermodel boba_fett model_default model_default model_default

(here you would use the name of the directory under /models/players/ that you would want to use for your appearance. (located in assets1.pk3. Though for the most part, it will be the same as the name of the npc from an npc list.) you can vary the 3 model_defaults to do different heads torsos & legs (in that order), but you'd have to look in the models/players/nameofmodel/ directory to see if such things are availible for that model. For a lot of the npcs, the model_defaults are the only ones suitable for SP.

this will make you look like boba fett, but won't do the stat changes like doing "playermodel boba_fett" will. ie, it will only change apparence in game and cutscene, but nothing else.