Note: LucasForums Archive Project
The content here was reconstructed by scraping the Wayback Machine in an effort to restore some of what was lost when LF went down. The LucasForums Archive Project claims no ownership over the content or assets that were archived on archive.org.

This project is meant for research purposes only.

When does a script get executed ?

Page: 1 of 1
 Desmond5
08-26-2004, 7:19 AM
I just started learning modding so this question might sound quite stupid...

I wan't to make a script that adds money to the container where you get your initial equipment when you start the game (in tutorial level). I went through some tutorials I found out that I would probably have to use this function:

void main()
{
CreateItemOnObject("G_I_CREDITS001", The Container , 1000);
}

But ...

What now ? I know the function but how can I add it to the game ? I can't just compile it and copy it to the override folder, right ? How do I define when the script gets executed (in what area) ?
And how do I know what is the name of the container I want to use (the initial equipment container) ?

Regards, Desmond
 BobRichter
08-26-2004, 8:04 AM
Hey, I think I can actually help out here. :)

I did something pretty similar for my first mod, putting my Godslayer of Hitpoints and my Invulnerability Suit in Revan's footlocker on the Endar Spire.

What I did was to modify Trask's opening dialog to fire my script. Entry #73 "So hurry up and grab your gear..." should pretty much always occur in that conversation.

Simply change the "script" field to the name of your script and place both the compiled script and the modified .dlg in the override folder and you should be good to go.

The container in question is named "end_locker01," which is a logical enough name. I imagine you'd have to employ the guess-and-check method to find any container you didn't know the name of (someone else handed me the name for that one.) Unless there's a list of what placables are where somewhere?