Note: LucasForums Archive Project
The content here was reconstructed by scraping the Wayback Machine in an effort to restore some of what was lost when LF went down. The LucasForums Archive Project claims no ownership over the content or assets that were archived on archive.org.

This project is meant for research purposes only.

EASY GEN question

Page: 1 of 1
 lauser
01-30-2004, 7:53 AM
I think I have a fairly good grasp on texturing and mapping concepts. What I want to know is when you guys make your heightmap texture how do you know what to make? Like do you make a bunch of textures and just make different terrains? Or can you manually adjust the terrain map even though you have already made the texture? Obviously I'm NEW to terrain mapping and EasyGen. I haven't found a feature that does that. Is there one? rgoer?
 lauser
01-30-2004, 7:57 AM
Nevermind I found the feature. I played around with the modifier feature. This seems to do the trick. You see I already have a map with terrain but I wanted to match the terrain with what I had. I made the bitmap texture as best I could but it wasn't exactly where I wanted it all. So this feature allows you to adjust the terrain.
 lauser
01-30-2004, 8:08 AM
Might as well post in here I guess. I have another question. Pahricida suggested we try this shader code for a MULTI-MODEL phonged terrain shader. Here is the code---->

q3map_surfaceModel [modelpath] [density] [odds] [minscale] [maxscale] [minangle] [maxangle] [oriented]
A surface with q3map_surfaceModel in its shader will randomly place a specified model across it's face.
This is designed to place grass or tree models over terrain. [modelpath] The path to the model file (any supported format).
[density] The density of the models, in game units.
[odds] The odds of the model appearing (normalized?).[minscale] The minimum scale of the model from its original size of 1.0.
[maxscale] The maximum scale of the model from its original size of 1.0.