Note: LucasForums Archive Project
The content here was reconstructed by scraping the Wayback Machine in an effort to restore some of what was lost when LF went down. The LucasForums Archive Project claims no ownership over the content or assets that were archived on archive.org.

This project is meant for research purposes only.

JA Modeling tutorial?

Page: 1 of 1
 |GG|Carl
11-03-2003, 3:36 PM
I have created several player skins for JO and JA, but I'm kinda tired of it, I wanna try something new; to create a player model.

So I wonder:

• Would it be possible for me to create a player model? Or do you have to be a total geek and know 15 different programming languages?

• Does anyone know of a good modeling tutorial for total newbies, like I?

I hope you can help me.:)
 alaris
11-03-2003, 5:03 PM
well, I'm getting my 2nd player model into Jedi Outcast---once it's done I'll convert it to Jedi Academy.

If you want to model players in either game you'll need 3ds Max so that you can assign the model to the Jedi Knight skeleton. Problem is, 3ds Max is marketed to companies who will front the $3,000 bill for 1 license.

However, if you want to model props like lightsaber hilts that don't have skeletons, you can do it all from milkshape or gmax. I recommend starting here because it's much simpler. I may or may not release my newbie milkshape lightsaber hilt tutorial. If not, do a google search for milkhsape or gmax tutorials (gmax is free, milkshape costs $20 but has more import / export features). Once you get the modeling aspect down comfortably you can follow this tutorial to get it ingame:

http://psynex-land.com/saber%20tutorial/Custom%20JA%20Sabers.html)
 |GG|Carl
11-03-2003, 5:41 PM
Thanks! I'll try to create some kind of saber or something...
 eidospsogos
11-03-2003, 6:08 PM
here is a link to a site with a couple of tutorials on modeling for JO. the basics still apply, but the jedi academy skeleton has 19 less bones than the JO skeleton.