Note: LucasForums Archive Project
The content here was reconstructed by scraping the Wayback Machine in an effort to restore some of what was lost when LF went down. The LucasForums Archive Project claims no ownership over the content or assets that were archived on archive.org.

This project is meant for research purposes only.

Re-compiling JO models for use in JA.....need help

Page: 1 of 1
 eidospsogos
10-28-2003, 11:47 PM
does anyone know, and this may have already been covered elsewhere....but i am fairly new to all this, how to recompile the skeletal structure of a JO model for use in JA....

JO models appear to have more bones by a fairly large number.....so is this even possible, and if so how?

this may be a stupid question with an obvious answer.....but bear with me, i am new to the idea of modeling. worked with skinning primarily in the past, but you reach limitations with that eventually. so i was wondering if anyone knew how to do this?
 eidospsogos
10-29-2003, 12:59 AM
i went through the following steps.....

imported the file into milkshape.....exported it as md3....opened in md3 view, exported as glm....

modview would then load the file without giving me the animations error dealing with the humaniod.gla file.....as it did when i simply put the folder in the models/players folder.....

but there were no animations linked with the model at all.....anyone know anything about this.....
 boinga1
10-29-2003, 1:22 AM
You need 3Ds Max. It's the only progra to put a player model in-game.

I don't know the whole process, but I think you'd have to take the JO model and remove the JO skeleton. Then, you'd have to get a JA skeleton and fit it on the model.

And you might want to know, 3DS MAX costs a few thousand dollars. Outta my league.
 eidospsogos
10-29-2003, 12:04 PM
i know that i found a link to downloading the skeleton for JO, anyone know wehre to get just the JA skeleton...."

if not how difficult is it to get the skeleton out of an existing model.....