Note: LucasForums Archive Project
The content here was reconstructed by scraping the Wayback Machine in an effort to restore some of what was lost when LF went down. The LucasForums Archive Project claims no ownership over the content or assets that were archived on archive.org.

This project is meant for research purposes only.

The Jedi Academy

Page: 1 of 1
 NofrikinfuN
08-14-2003, 5:33 PM
I have to wonder if Raven got the idea for the Jedi Academy game from www.thejediacademy.net) :D

I'm currently a Trainer there myself, and I've been a part of the community for around a year. We've always pushed the Academy theme and focused on lightsaber combat, which seem to be the main themes behind the upcoming Jedi Academy game.

Is it possible that Raven took a good look at the JK2 community, and just happened upon a great idea for their game?

lol

Just a thought. Everyone at the Academy was pleasantly surprised when Jedi Academy was announced as the sequel.
 StormHammer
08-14-2003, 5:41 PM
I doubt it. After all, they already touched on the Academy in Jedi Outcast, so in my view it's a natural progression to utilise the Academy theme more fully in this game. It also solves that problem about 'lower Force powers' at the start for people new to the game, by making them a Padawan learner.

I think they were probably far more inspired by the Jedi Academy Trilogy of novels - after all, the entire concept of Luke running an Academy on Yavin IV comes directly from that source, and I thought it was great the way they tied one part of the EU (Luke's Academy), into this series of games, which is another part of the EU.

This kind of 'continuity', particularly in terms of Star Wars fans, not simply fans of the games, is important, and well realised. They've certainly opened up new avenues of opportunity, and I think it would be foolish not to continue this games series...
 NofrikinfuN
08-14-2003, 6:09 PM