Note: LucasForums Archive Project
The content here was reconstructed by scraping the Wayback Machine in an effort to restore some of what was lost when LF went down. The LucasForums Archive Project claims no ownership over the content or assets that were archived on archive.org.

This project is meant for research purposes only.

Groovy's Movies

Page: 1 of 1
 Darth Groovy
01-25-2003, 4:44 AM
Here is where I will discuss all that is movie, both good and bad. And you can argue with me to your heart's content or ask me for tid bits and factoids, or even critique your own movies. I love movies, I've seen hundreds of them, and own hundreds of VHS and DVD movies. Had I been more sucessful as a Journalist, I may have actually been a movie critic. Well I'd like to Christen this thread with one of my all time favorite films:

Forbidden Planet

1956, MGM DVD

Score: 95%

http://www.pcs.ne.jp/~yu/sf/forbid.jpg)

Like Star Wars, another movie that came close to remaining timeless is Forbidden Planet. The movie is about a rescue/salvage mission to Altaire IV, in search of survivors of a survey team that dissapeared. What the crew of C-57D discover is the enigmatic Dr. Morbius, cleverly played by Walter Pidgeon, his scantily clad daughter forgettably portrayed by Anne Francis, and thier assistant the ever famous; Robbie The Robot. The crew soon discover the wonders of Dr. Morbius's findings as well as a dark secret that sheds light on the dissapearance of the missing survey team.

Forbidden Planet was one of the first sci-fi films to despense the token attack of the rubber suited aliens, and dig deep into to the human psyhce, to tap our deepest nightmares. The set designs are breathtaking. The special effects and matt work was light years ahead of it's time, and it was the first film to utilize a completely electronic soundtrack, the results of which have these horrific loud chirps, whirrs and buzzes that help build the tention to an already chilling creation.