Note: LucasForums Archive Project
The content here was reconstructed by scraping the Wayback Machine in an effort to restore some of what was lost when LF went down. The LucasForums Archive Project claims no ownership over the content or assets that were archived on archive.org.

This project is meant for research purposes only.

Public Service Announcement.

Page: 1 of 1
 BeastMaster
11-05-2002, 4:45 PM
:compcry:

BACKUP YOUR FILES. Now.

I just had the scare of my life Sunday afternoon.

I finished the 8-page paper that was due Monday and could make-or-break that course, and decided that I could celebrate. So, I turned off the computer, and went out to a movie. When i came back, I tried to turn the computer on. Again. And again.

Please note that I am a writer and a student. All of my writing is done on computer, as are (at the moment) all of my school essays. All of my future is tied to the computer in some way.

:freakout:

Fast forward to Monday. The paper is now officially late, but my mom has come to town so that the computer repair guy could come without me having to miss classes. Turns out it was only the power distributor. All my files are intact.

As soon as I arrived home, I printed out the essay in question (it'll be minus 5% for a day late, but at least it won't be an "Incomplete"). Then I took a blank CD and loaded all of my text files. Then, and only then, did I relax.

I trust this is a lesson to all of you. Backup your files.
 Rogue15
11-05-2002, 4:52 PM
another reason to get a Mac. ;)
 Pedro The Hutt
11-06-2002, 9:46 AM
Why would I want to go to an americanistic fast food chain?
 Pad
11-06-2002, 12:33 PM
yep, i do that all the time backin up my files. i cant think of loosing all the stuff i got. and i think such problems also could happen when u have mac :xp:
 Darth Simpson
11-06-2002, 2:07 PM
LOL, Pedro!
 BeastMaster
11-06-2002, 9:49 PM
:xp:

This computer (well, the processor) is new too; just got it last April.