Note: LucasForums Archive Project
The content here was reconstructed by scraping the Wayback Machine in an effort to restore some of what was lost when LF went down. The LucasForums Archive Project claims no ownership over the content or assets that were archived on archive.org.

This project is meant for research purposes only.

2da File Problems

Page: 1 of 1
 Bobo
08-23-2004, 6:30 PM
ok i tried reading to see how i can get like 10 appearance.2da files into the game without one of them overriding the other. heh impossible! it was like a 1 year old baby trying to read cursive writing. if someone can help me understand this better id appriciate it. thanks for your help.

im not really good at these files and stuff, more of a player not a modder :D
 Achilles
08-23-2004, 7:02 PM
Originally posted by Master Bobo
ok i tried reading to see how i can get like 10 appearance.2da files into the game without one of them overriding the other. heh impossible! it was like a 1 year old baby trying to read cursive writing. if someone can help me understand this better id appriciate it. thanks for your help.

im not really good at these files and stuff, more of a player not a modder :D

Each character in the game has an appearance associated with it. The attrributes of each appearance is stored in a 2-dimensional array (2da). The line that contains information for a specific character is then stored in that character's utc file (example: Bastila is line 4).

If you have 10 mods with 10 different appearance files, you can merge them by opening one, the copying each of the unique lines in the others into the primary table. You will then have to go in to each of the mods and change the Appearance entry to reflect the changes made in the Appearance.2da file.

I hope this helps.
 Bobo
08-23-2004, 8:36 PM
ok i am very stupid when it comes to this, i have 4 appearance files i need to edit (thought 10, but naw lol) i am very confused on merging them