Note: LucasForums Archive Project
The content here was reconstructed by scraping the Wayback Machine in an effort to restore some of what was lost when LF went down. The LucasForums Archive Project claims no ownership over the content or assets that were archived on archive.org.

This project is meant for research purposes only.

Skin problem for Snowtrooper

Page: 1 of 1
 Mr. X
05-31-2004, 4:54 PM
I'm using a metallic shader for a Snowtrooper skin but when I play as him the back view of his cape is unviewable. You can see his cape in frontal view threw his legs but you can't see any of it from behind. Any suggestions?
 Amidala from Chop Shop
05-31-2004, 11:47 PM
You have to have something in the shader telling the game to apply it to both sides with the "cull" statement. I'm no shader expert but it is something like this:

{
cull disable
{
shader text blah blah
}
}
 Mr. X
06-01-2004, 11:27 AM
Can you please give me an example I'm lost with that. Thnx for the help in advance.

BTW here are some screenies to show you what I mean.

Frontal View of skin close-up with cape in view.

http://img64.photobucket.com/albums/v196/Mr.XMGS2/shot1.jpg)

Rear view of skin close-up with cape not in view.

http://img64.photobucket.com/albums/v196/Mr.XMGS2/shot2.jpg)

Frontal view of skin far away with cape not in view.

http://img64.photobucket.com/albums/v196/Mr.XMGS2/shot4.jpg)

Rear view of skin far away with cape in view.

http://img64.photobucket.com/albums/v196/Mr.XMGS2/shot3.jpg)
 Amidala from Chop Shop
06-01-2004, 10:39 PM
Every surface of a polygon has two sides, a front and a back. Typically, we only see the front or "out" side. For example, a solid block you only show the front side. In many applications we see both. For example, in water, you can see both front and a back. The same is true for things like grates and screens.