Note: LucasForums Archive Project
The content here was reconstructed by scraping the Wayback Machine in an effort to restore some of what was lost when LF went down. The LucasForums Archive Project claims no ownership over the content or assets that were archived on archive.org.

This project is meant for research purposes only.

Modeling

Page: 1 of 1
 JeeMonkey
03-15-2004, 6:37 PM
what is modeling?
if it what i think it is.....where can i find a tutorial explaining how to model???
 Alegis
03-15-2004, 7:00 PM
right at top of the website there is a page called 'search'

search for modelling tutorial
Modelling and skinning:

See your computercase? Imagine it to be completely white. Modelling would be how it would look like now, skinning is all the painting and metal colour on it etc
 JeeMonkey
03-17-2004, 6:59 PM
the search pops up saying JO modeling tutorials and conversion factors. look im a noob, i have no idea what i am doing i just want something simple and easy and all in one place.
 Ziechel
03-19-2004, 5:52 PM
skinning is easier i think...
 Weiser_Cain
03-20-2004, 7:57 PM
Ok lets see if I can help. In the old days everything was sprites. Those days are over. These days game are 3D everything is made of models also called meshes.

Models are 3D objects.
Alone this object looks pretty plain, thats where texturing comes in.
Texturing is the process of painting a picture on a 3D surface.
you do this to add color and minor details.

Lets say I make a light saber. like so.

http://home.comcast.net/~Weiser_Cain/Images/Sev_Ther_Lightsaber_untex.jpg)

Usin a modeling program I made(MODELED) this but it still doesnt look like I want it to so I skin or texture it. like so.

http://home.comcast.net/~Weiser_Cain/Images/Sev_Ther_Lightsaber_tex_d.jpg)

see? all that detail without having to model every little detail and without making my computer do anymore real work...